Posted on

MadIRC – Nice People on the Dark Web!?

madirc

by Ciphas

It’s no secret that the dark web (Tor in particular) has a terrible reputation among the general public. This seems especially true of those who have never set foot in it.

Even though it’s known for its illegal activity, there are some good, and even (surprise!) legal things on Tor. One of these includes IRC chats – yes, ones without crazy people!!

One IRC channel which I discovered recently goes by the name of MadIRC, and can be found on both the clearnet and Tor. Their Tor hidden service address is http://qj3m7wxqk4pfqwob.onion/. In addition, it’s available on the dn42 VPN at irc://irc.madirc.dn42.

(Note – dn42’s official site, dn42.net, is down at the present time for unknown reasons. If you’re interested in joining, check out their wiki at the link above.)

Anyhow, let’s take a journey into the world of MadIRC…

The “Inner Sanctum”

Well, going back to IRC makes me feel like I’m in the olden days of the internet, for sure! In fact, it makes me think of http://bash.org:

t0rbad> so there i was in this hallway right
BlackAdder> i believe i speak for all of us when i say…
BlackAdder> WRONG BTICH
BlackAdder> IM SICK OF YOU
BlackAdder> AND YOUR LAME STORIES
BlackAdder> NOBODY  HERE THINKS YOURE FUNNY
BlackAdder> NOBODY HERE WANTS TO HEAR YOUR STORIES
BlackAdder> IN FACT
BlackAdder> IF YOU DIED RIGHT NOW
BlackAdder> I  DON”T THINK NOBODY WOULD CARE
BlackAdder> SO WHAT DO YOU SAY TO THAT FAG
*** t0rbad sets mode: +b BlackAdder*!*@*.*
*** BlackAdder has been kicked my t0rbad ( )
t0rbad> so there i was in this hallway right
CRCError> right
heartless> Right.
r3v> right

Oh, I just couldn’t resist. Anyhow, the channel, known as “#Elite,” is frequented by its fair share of programmers (or “coders,” as I like to say), and tech-savvy people – my crowd, more or less.

madIRC

I have to admit, though, that they know a lot more than I do, considering that some of them use Arch Linux and such (which I’m a total n00b with). Hey, I’m learning, I’m learning!

Anyhow, they’re basically just a cool group of folks – and not only are they into coding, but they also happen to like black metal and death metal (two of my other loves, which I haven’t mentioned, to my knowledge).

We do have the occasional random Tor users wander in, and say “Give me links, bitch!” or “Where can I find red rooms?” But we know how to deal with those.

Here’s a red room for you!

1abc54c3a6cbd7ea8d67644eafb79c42

 

 

About secretsofthedark

Have you heard of the dark web? Simply put, it's the "hidden internet" built on networks like Tor. "Secrets of the Dark" chronicles my dark web experiences, but is also aimed at demythologizing it and teaching about it. Want to reproduce one of the "horror stories"? Contact me at ciphas@protonmail.com.

Leave a Reply

