Posted on

“Cicada 3301” Request!

sevensexposed

So, a reader made a request on my previous post that I write about the mysterious “Cicada 3301” group (or other such groups).

While I do not know much about the “official” group, from what I gather, they are a secret society searching for enlightenment and the meaning of life, and they attempt to find this path through mathematics, physics, steganography, and other academic disciplines. I don’t think they have anything to do with more well known organizations, like the CIA, FBI, or NSA, even though some people have speculated about this connection.

The site that I thought was their official site used to hint at what the organization was about, and this is how I gathered that they were more spiritual than people may have realized.

What I figured out was that “3301” was not really the name of the group, so much as the person(?) that started it, and revealed the texts to the others (in a way, it’s like their “god” or spiritual guide). These texts would be the Liber Primus and the Gematria Primus, which the author wrote in runes and symbols:

3UmNme4

Nonetheless, the reason that they started sharing the puzzles and mysteries with the world was that they really did want to recruit new members, but didn’t want just anyone to join – they were looking for people who were serious, highly intelligent, and skilled in many academic fields. And presumably, some people did actually pass the tests, although they probably never told anyone publicly about it.

The Uncovering Cicada Wiki, though not affiliated with the group directly, does have some intriguing information about the past puzzles, and about what Cicada is.

Interesting Updates

So, the site that I was referring to above (cicada3301) no longer has the wiki-like structure that it used to. I may be a little late to the party, but what now appears if you visit the site is this message:

turnoffjavascript

It says “Make me a favor, please – Turn off javascript.” Curious, I turned off JavaScript, and then a hidden message appeared (which I did not expect):

newpuzzle

I know that’s difficult to read, so I’ll spell it out here:

Hello
2+5+1 = 8
25*13=325
15,31,3301
sqrt(324)=18
360360/7=51480
360360/8=45045
2513/800=3.14125

APOC SCAE
ALYPSE VERY
SOCIETY CRAZY
CATVS SUN MUSIC
31°46’38.49″N

Since I just came across this, I haven’t had time to solve the puzzle yet, but there’s a definite significance to the numbers, obviously. Even if people have seen this link before, I thought I’d take a crack at the puzzle. In particular, this message has something to do with the number 18, and whatever that may symbolize.

I’ll illustrate: the square root of 324 is 18. 360,360 divided by 7 is 51,480 (as they state). The digits of 51,480, when added up, equal 18. The digits of 45,045, when added up, also equal 18. And obviously, 3.14125 are the first few digits of pi, but there’s more to it than this.

So what else does the number 18 signify? In Hebrew (where letters also stand for numbers), it is the symbol of life: chai.

150px-Hebrew_Chai_Symbol.svg

Likewise, in China, 18 is associated with someone who will have great success and prosper. Could there be a connection? Perhaps!

There is also a correlation between 180 and π, in that to convert radians to degrees, you multiply by 180 over π: Convert from Radians to Degrees pi/18 Is this at all related, or is it reading too much into what’s there?

Perhaps someone who’s more experienced with steganography than I can take this a little further, so I intend to share this around.

And of course, some others have been working on this before me, if you want more information:

Cicada 3301 working out

Ideone.com – GFeI03 – Online Java Compiler and Debugging Tool (someone was analyzing the code of the page with this message)

What happened? r/cicada

VK.com – Utopia Show

There’s also a site which someone created not too long ago that seems to be associated with Cicada, although I have not verified this – http://www.1711141131131.xyz/. The former URL of this site was http://sevens.exposed, which now redirects to the new URL. At various times, this site has also shown different puzzles and encoded messages, similar to the ones that Cicada has posted. (Although, as the group themselves stated, “Beware false paths.”)

sevensexposed2

Presently, it shows a series of animated messages, which change from symbols to letters. The last three appear to be anagrams:

Ana,

there will come a time

when you will decide

between yourself and your loved ones.

when it comes,

walk the path your peers would not.

and triumph in the victory that you feel in your heart.

A Cab Cede Ether Summer Fruit

A Bash Steg Mr Hemmer Prate

Weighted Jetport Moth

 

What does it all mean? Well, I did take a look at the phrase: “A Cab Cede Ether Summer Fruit,” and noticed that you can get “The Cicada” from some of the letters, but this may just be a coincidence. And I figured “Ana” was a reference to anagrams.

If you have further knowledge, feel free to leave a comment or an idea. That’s always welcome. Due to the fact that it used to be called “sevens.exposed,” I had initially thought that the site had been made by someone who was anti-Cicada.

I’ll elaborate on this in some future posts.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4htb2Lmt0nxlc0xO0qh3yQ

About secretsofthedark

Have you heard of the dark web? Simply put, it's the "hidden internet" built on networks like Tor. "Secrets of the Dark" chronicles my dark web experiences, but is also aimed at demythologizing it and teaching about it. Want to reproduce one of the "horror stories"? Contact me at ciphas@protonmail.com.

3 responses to ““Cicada 3301” Request!

  1. the_seeker ⋅

    Thank you very much for the explanation!
    Please check your email.

  2. atnmweb

    Why are you not replying me for so long?
    My emails: aim333@protonmail.com and dark.sh3ll@bitmessage.ch

Leave a Reply

