Posted on

Creeping Back to the Dark Web!

by Ciphas

So, after the brief setback I suffered in Looking for Linux!!, I’ve found a temporary solution.  I have an old computer I can use for the time being, so I can continue writing, coding, etc.  It looks a lot like this:

Datapoint_Corporation_(CTC)_Datapoint_Turbo_8665,_Datapoint_2200_Desktop_Computerm_(1970,1971),_Datapoint_8600,_in_front_of_MITS_IMSAI_8080

Author: Clusternote 2015 Wikimedia Commons

One of the things I have in mind to do for future posts are to try out some of the webmail services on Tor and other networks, so I can come up with a good recommendation.

Currently, I am using SIGAINT, which is one of the more popular (and controversial) services, but there are certainly others.  (It’s been attacked more than once by security agencies, which I’m well aware of, thank you!)

SIGAINT-attack

If you go by 1EarthUnited’s List of Secure Dark Web Email Providers in 2016, you may find some good recommendations, but it is partially a matter of personal preference.

I’ve hunted around the Tor network and found a number of other email services, but as to whether they’re the most secure, that remains to be seen.  Some of the ones I intend to try out are OnionMailSquirrelMail, Mail2Tor, and Roundcube, which have both clearnet and darknet URLs for their landing pages.  Those links go to the clearnet sites (just so you can find out more about them).

I’m also in the process of researching live CD and USB operating systems, which is something I’ve been meaning to write about for awhile, but I occasionally had some compatibility problems with my system. That’s one reason I’m researching a good Linux system (besides the fact that I just like them).

Beyond just Tails and Whonix, I’d also like to try out these, specifically:

Kali Linux kali-linux_605634_full.jpg

Knoppix

knoppix

Debian

debian_669635_full

Arch Linux

a2bdce9b-5126-df11-98b7-0022190f5762_5_full

Linux Mint

linux-mint_279230_full

And a few others that I won’t list at the moment.  Ooh, each one could be a future post…how interesting!!  I could make up a cheesy Linux song to go with it (but I don’t want to torture you).

It looks like I’ve got my work cut out for me.

What, No More Dark Stuff?

EuroArms-670x497

Hey, I didn’t say that!  It’s just that the dark stuff takes time and effort to research.  Plus, to be honest, the more I investigate the dark web, the less scary it becomes.  There are still some terrifying things on it; don’t get me wrong.

I just would like to share both the good and the bad.  There’s nothing “wrong” with that, is there?

Besides, what I’ve realized is that if you actually want to be taken seriously when talking about the dark web, you can’t only tell horror stories.  Do you think I want to be another Takedownman?

Wait…forget I even said that.

 

 

 

About secretsofthedark

Have you heard of the dark web? Simply put, it's the "hidden internet" built on networks like Tor. "Secrets of the Dark" chronicles my dark web experiences, but is also aimed at demythologizing it and teaching about it. Want to reproduce one of the "horror stories"? Contact me at ciphas@protonmail.com.

Leave a Reply

