Posted on

What Does “Dire Clown” Mean?

Several people have asked me about this – what the hell does “Dire Clown” (the URL of my blog) mean?  Allow me to explain.

Back in 1992, I was obsessed with the game Shining Force for the Sega Genesis (newer games in the series are still popular).

One of the battles in the game takes place in a circus tent, and there’s a particular enemy that you fight called the Dire Clown.  It looks like this:

Dire-clown-attack

Creepy, huh?  Given that I also have this bizarre love/hate relationship with evil clowns, that combined two of my major interests.  I then began using the name “Dire Clown” as an online handle as well.  If you’ve never played the game, here’s a video of the specific battle in which Dire Clown appears: Shining Force: Chapter 2, Part 3 (Circus Battle).

When I started blogging, much further down the road, I adopted the same name for a couple of blogs – not because I couldn’t think of anything else, but I still thought it had a nice ring to it.

I’ve since started using other names for newer accounts, but the Dire Clown character still holds a place in my heart.  Oddly enough, I rarely see any “Dire Clown fan art”; the Shining Force games are still immensely popular, so you would think there would be!

So now that the blog is called “Secrets of the Dark,” perhaps I need to combine the two – a Dire Clown peering out from a dark alley or something…

Has anyone encountered creepy clowns elsewhere on the web?  (Or is that a silly question?)  Feel free to share your evil clown stories.

And watch out – they’re after you…

0cbd57d8d868b6cc44b439e9c66b0073

 

About secretsofthedark

Have you heard of the dark web? Simply put, it's the "hidden internet" built on networks like Tor. "Secrets of the Dark" chronicles my dark web experiences, but is also aimed at demythologizing it and teaching about it. Want to reproduce one of the "horror stories"? Contact me at ciphas@protonmail.com.

Leave a Reply

