Posted on

Meow: of Course Catcoin Exists!

uXBU-yNgpsedSk1a

I was discussing bitcoin with someone the other day, and I mentioned the fact that Dogecoin also exists.  Then, innocuously, I said, “I wonder if there’s a catcoin?”  Silly question, right?

Of course there is!  Apparently, they’ve been around since December 24, 2013, but I only heard about them this year.  They must not be as popular as some of the others, though, because I had checked one of my new favorite sites, alternativeTo.net, and it wasn’t yet listed as an alternative to Bitcoin.  So I did the honors and submitted Catcoin as an alternative, of course!  (Last I checked, it hadn’t been approved yet.  But that may change.)

Catcoin (CAT) is a Scrypt version of Bitcoin, with a limit of 21 million coins to be mined at 50 coins per 10 minute blocks.  I don’t recall if I explained Scrypt in a previous post.  Scrypt and SHA-256 are the two most often used algorithm systems in use by cryptocurrency miners to validate blocks of transaction data, according to  CoinPursuit™.

Naturally, I don’t have a CAT wallet yet, but maybe that would be something worth investing in!  At the time of this writing, I only have bitcoins and Dogecoins, with a total cryptocurrency of $0.01992843.  I feel like a millionaire!

It’s no big deal – I really didn’t get interested in this with the hope of becoming a catcoin quintillionaire.  What would that look like, anyway?

 aristocat-memes

For those who were hoping to strike it rich by investing in catcoin, According to CoinMarketCap, one CAT is currently worth 0.00000234 BTC, or $0.001011. Yeah, that isn’t much, but if it were to gain some popularity, who knows?  I’m sure bitcoin wasn’t worth that much when it first started either.

Nonetheless, if CAT interests you, head over to their homepage at Catcoin, and check out how to get set up.  They feature wallets for both Windows and Mac systems, as well as a Catcoin SubredditCatcoin Facebook Page, and others.

And for the curious, here’s the Catchain: Catcoin Block Explorer, which is the public ledger of all Catcoin transactions (so apparently, you can buy things with it).

I had been wondering the same thing about Dogecoin, since I actually have a few of those (more than any other cryptocurrency at present).  Actually, now that you mention it, here’s a good link for that: Spend Dogecoins – List of Stores Accepting Dogecoins.

You can really tell that CAT hasn’t taken off yet, because when you try to type “catcoin” into Google, autosuggest says: “Did you mean bitcoin?”

So, readers – if this interests you, then spread the word about it!  Who knows?  If the price takes off, you just might be able to say:

“I knew about Catcoin when it wasn’t worth a fraction of a cent!”

 

About secretsofthedark

Have you heard of the dark web? Simply put, it's the "hidden internet" built on networks like Tor. "Secrets of the Dark" chronicles my dark web experiences, but is also aimed at demythologizing it and teaching about it. Want to reproduce one of the "horror stories"? Contact me at ciphas@protonmail.com.

One response to “Meow: of Course Catcoin Exists!

  1. bitcoineskaf ⋅

    man, crave for I has bought several hundred or few plethora of dollars equity bitcoins currently being year back. seems too late at this point ,. Although, had I died with Mt. Gox Really should have refused have not long ago screwed out of my earnings. Maybe just as competently.. Hope I will not be deciding a couple of years or additional down the highway that Partner still must-have gotten involved in Bitcoins now

Leave a Reply

