Posted on

Leaving the Dark Web (for Now)

silent_ponyville_by_kyuubi_fox_demon-d4kv0j8

This statement may come as a surprise to some of you, since this blog was originally built around the subject of the dark web.  For the time being, I’m walking away from it.

I’ve encountered a few things that have really made me question whether or not I should be there, and I don’t think it’s worth the risk.

On the bright side, this doesn’t mean I’ll stop writing the blog; I think I’ll just alter the subject matter more toward privacy-themed technology, and security (which I’m interested in anyway).

I do understand that my page views tend to go up whenever I talk about the dark web – and I may still discuss it from time to time, but that doesn’t mean I need to actively be in it.

Red Flags!

danger-darkweb

To be fair, I had received some warning signs already.  Several times, I was nearly the victim of an XSS (Cross-Site Scripting) attack, and had I not been using the NoScript plugin, I likely would have received the full brunt of it.

I also once attempted to visit a site with, shall we say, “questionable” motives, and I received a message that my IP address had been banned. It looked something like this (but a little less dramatic):

Your-Ip-Banned.png

So, if those experiences weren’t warning enough, I’d hate to think what other horrifying things lay in store for me.  I certainly don’t want be doxed and have my personal details posted on the dark web, or to have my identity stolen…or worse.

On the bright side, as someone said to me, “You can only write about the dark web so much before it gets old.”  As I thought about that, many of the YouTube videos and blog posts about it say the same things: “Ooh, it’s shocking!  There are hitmen!  There are drugs!  There are cats!”

I may as well find some things that aren’t being said everywhere else.  So, don’t be disappointed, readers!

I have been looking more into bitcoin and cryptocurrencies, so there’s plenty more to say about that. Plus, there are hundreds of different privacy apps and general security issues that I’m becoming more aware of each day.

I’ll keep the blog interesting.  Just give me some time to do more research.

 

About secretsofthedark

Have you heard of the dark web? Simply put, it's the "hidden internet" built on networks like Tor. "Secrets of the Dark" chronicles my dark web experiences, but is also aimed at demythologizing it and teaching about it. Want to reproduce one of the "horror stories"? Contact me at ciphas@protonmail.com.

3 responses to “Leaving the Dark Web (for Now)

  1. Hybrid ⋅

    Even tho all the dark web post were interesting safety is most important, your blog was awesome before and still is. Just keep it up and do your best ❤

    • Thanks Hybrid! You know, I have considered going back to it, but I need to have more safety protocols in place. I’m becoming a better coder, and just using common sense. Don’t worry, I’ll keep up the blog.

      • Hybrid ⋅

        Oh no problem. 🙂 I hope you do go back if that’s what you want and it all works out for you. Don’t want you becoming a future creepypasta story lolol. Looking forward to reading more of your blog.

Leave a Reply

